Hope

28 01 2009

I guess this message is for hope.

According to Wikipedia it says that hope is the belief in a positive outcome related to circumstances in your life.  Hope is the feeling that things can turn out for the best.  Hope is to wish for something with the expectation of it being fulfilled.

hope-logo

While trying to figure out what to say, I have been listening to soft church related music and I read a talk by President Dieter F. Uchtdorf.  This talk was given at the October General Conference and is named The Infinite Power of Hope.

In addition to the Wikipedia definition, hope is the abiding trust that the Lord will fulfill his promise to us and believing and expecting that our prayers will be answered.  He said that with hope we will find joy and happiness.

Hope will get us through daily life and uphold us through trials, temptations, and sorrow.  We need to learn how to hold tightly to the hope that thinks will work out because the adversary uses despair to bind our hearts and minds in darkness.  Sometimes, it doesn’t come easily.  we may have to take that step to make that decision to hope when everything doesn’t agree with that.

I know this is something that I need to work on.  recently I had lost my hope.  Nothing was working out.  I don’t have a dating life, a job, or a feeling of being worthwhile.  I wasn’t being invited to do things with people lately and I felt like everyone was upset with me for some reason.  I know that some people that were supposed to love me, never did, and that still hurts.  I may not make it through the semester with enough money to live even though I had put in the effort to find a job.

The most recent thing that sent me over the edge was that I was almost dating a guy.  He knew that in my past I hadn’t dated very much because every relationship I had been in wasn’t good and I had put up a wall so I wouldn’t get hurt.  I wanted to date him but I needed a confirmation that he really cared about me and wasn’t just saying that.  He was willing to give me the time I needed because he wanted to be with me and honestly, I wanted to be with him too.  When I got to the point that I could have said yes, my roommate saw him holding hands with another girl on campus.  When I talked to him he was in a relationship.  All of a sudden I felt hurt.  I was willing to give him my heart and got it stabbed instead.  I almost feel like I never should have let my guard down.  My head wants to tell me that their is no such thing as a good guy for me because I am broken.

I am so grateful that I had amazing roommates that stood by my side when I was crying.  Especially, Lexie.  I needed a friend to help me realize that I had lost my hope.  However, I can regain it and I am trying my best to be happy.  Satan knows I am amazing and he wants to destroy my life but I have the necessary helps to rise above that.

flower_border

Just a few quotes for Hope

When the world says, “Give up,”
Hope whispers, “Try it one more time.”

May you have enough happiness to make you sweet, enough trials to make you strong, enough sorrow to keep you human enough hope to make you happy.

Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow.
— Albert Einstein

Hope is knowing that people, like kites, are made to be lifted up.

Hope is faith holding out its hand in the dark.

Actions

Information

3 responses

29 01 2009
Holly

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on hope. Hope helps me stay in today.

29 01 2009
Nonya

You know…Einstein was an Atheist right?

29 01 2009
Sarah

Robin!! You are beautiful inside and out! Im so glad to have you as a friend. Keep being hopeful and if you ever need a word of encouragement, I am right below you 😉

Leave a Reply

