Study Abroad or No Study Abroad

28 03 2009

So here is a big decision to make.  I am thinking about doing a study abroad program in New Zealand.  This certain program is mostly offered to my major, recreational management and youth leadership.

2357153781_a2a1a2e6c0

The program is January 11-April 9th, 2010 and it would cost about $5,200.  That includes tuition, room and board, equipment, and transportation in New Zealand.  I would have to pay my own way there though.

The classes they would offer are…
religious studies in a world setting
strengthening home and family
Family Recreation
Outdoor Skills (choose up to three out of backpacking, mountain biking, sea kayaking, surfing, and climbing)
Practicum (up to three hours)

102-feets-in-the-sand-in-new-zealand

Positive Points

  • I think it would be amazing to go backpacking through New Zealand.  Also surfing and climbing.  I would be a tough gal by the time I came back and then lifeguard.  Just imagine that tan.
  • I would also be able to get away from the snow because it will be winter up here and it will be summer down there.
  • Imagine all of the cute boys down there.
  • It is an amazing once in a lifetime opportunity.

Negative Points

  • Being away from friends and family where I can’t keep in touch with them as easily
  • The expense won’t be that much fun to pay.

So I guess, what are you thinking about it.  I will talk to my family tomorrow and see what they think and then make a decision for myself.

work-travel-new-zealand

Actions

Information

One response

30 03 2009
Kevin

It sounds like you really want to go. You have many more positive points than negative. I think it will be amazing for you! (And I want you to send me pictures 😉 ) I hope you go! I think it will be an amazing experience that will help you grow and that you will never regret! But yeah, talk to your family, etc. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

