You Know Enough

15 04 2009

in the spirit that finals are just around the corner, this conference talk came to mind.  (today was the last day of class so we have two days off and then finals start)  This is a talk given at the October 2008 General Conference by Elder Neil L. Andersen of the seventy. (now an apostle)

While we may have good days we also have our bad days where we may feel like it takes all of the energy in world to just keep going.  We may feel like God doesn’t love us or that we are alone.  We don’t know everything.  However, we know enough.  We know that we are all children of God.  Even a little child can understand that.  It is our adults minds that try to not understand that.

Anderson says, “Our spiritual journey is the process of a lifetime.  We do not know everything in the beginning or even along the way.  Our conversion comes step-by-step, line upon line,.  We first build a foundation of faith in the Lord Jesus Christ…”  I know we have our doubts but as we strive to learn what we can and remember what we already know, we can build on that sturdy foundation and be a better person.

One last quote that I liked was “Challenges, difficulties, question, doubts–these are part of our mortality.  But we are not alone.  As disciples of the Lord Jesus Christ, we have enormous spiritual reservoirs of light and truth available to us.  Fear and faith cannot coexist in our hearts at the same time.  In our days of difficulty, we choose the road of faith.  Jesus said, Be not afraid, only believe.”

I just want to say that we need to make that choice to have faith.  We know enough and everything will turn out just fine.  I know I am a bit scared of finals but I have put effort into this for 4 months and I know enough to pass.  I may not get straight A’s but is that what is important.  No, I won’t be remembering every test when I am 84.  What is really important is growing as a person and growing closer to our father in heaven.  We can reach our goals with his help.  This is more important than any test.  I know enough.  I know that I have a father in heaven that loves me and I know that finals week is only a small moment in the whole scheme of things.  I encourage you to take this as food for thought.  “Be not afraid, only believe.”

going-to-be-on-final-jesus

Actions

Information

3 responses

17 04 2009
Rufor

Hi,
Can i take a one small pic from your site?

18 04 2009
robinawallace

yea, what one are you wanting?

23 04 2009
Brian Lutz

Nice post here. I have to say that this particular talk is probably my favorite one from the October conference, and this is definitely something I need to remind myself of on occasion.

Leave a Reply

