“As We Meet Again”

1 11 2011

Once upon a time, I told a bishop of mine that I was going to grow my testimony by studying and writing my thoughts about different general conference talks.  That was a long time ago.  Here I am to start this, and I hope to post my thoughts once or twice a week.

Let me start by describing what general conference is.  In the church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.  Twice a year (first weekend in April and October) the leaders of the church gather and speak to the members about different topics that they are inspired on for our behalf.

In September, my home teachers visited my roommate and I, and shared their spiritual message.  This message was given by President Dieter F. Uchtdorf.  This story was what I remember most from that discussion.

A fine member of the Church was talking with a neighbor who was not of our faith. When the topic of discussion turned to general conference, the neighbor asked, “You say you have prophets and apostles? And twice a year in a worldwide conference they reveal the word of God?”

“Absolutely,” the member replied with confidence.

The neighbor thought about that for a moment. He seemed genuinely interested and then asked, “What did they say in the last general conference?”

At this point the good member of the Church went from feeling excited about sharing the gospel to feeling embarrassed. Try as he might, he couldn’t think of the details of a single talk.

His friend found this troubling and said, “You mean to tell me that God speaks to man in our day and you can’t remember what He said?”

I vow to never be in this predicament.

This first talk is titled, “As We Meet Again” by President Thomas S. Monson.

President Monson is greeting those who are attending, and listening.  He also introduced the new temples that will be built.

  1. Provo “Tabernacle” Temple
  2. Barranguilla, Colombia
  3. Durban, South Africa
  4. Kinshasa in the Democratic Republic of the Congo
  5. Star Valley, Wyoming
  6. Paris, France
One quote I love from this introduction was “May I mention that no Church-built facility is more important than a temple.  Temples are places where relationships are sealed together to last through the eternities.”
A
I love that my future marriage will happen inside the temple and I will be sealed to Jared for Time and All Eternity, not til death do you part.
A
When the pioneers reached the Salt Lake Valley, Brigham Young told the saints that a temple was to be built.  Many saints did not want a temple.  This was because every time a temple was built, they were forced to leave.  This happened in Kirtland and Nauvuu.  Sites were dedicated in Independence, Far West, and Adam-ondi-Ahman, but were never built because persecution pushed the saints out of the area.  Temples are now, literally dotting the earth and it is exciting to see the gospel spread to all of the corners of the earth.
 A
In Stake Conference this last weekend, the first counselor of the Provo Temple Presidency spoke to us.  He explained the importance of doing the work for those who have passed on from this life, but just as important, is our own work.  We need to be moving forward to receive our own endowments and sealing.  I know that is true and I am so excited to do my own work and then work on my ancestors.
A
*Architects picture of what the Provo Tabernacle Temple will look like when completed.
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

