The Power of Scripture

6 11 2011

Richard G. Scott
Saturday Morning October 2011

I know that throughout my life, I have heard a lot about the importance of the scriptures.  However, I still haven’t made the habit of reading them daily. Especially the book of mormon.  One of the most remembered points made by Elder Scott is the following. . .

Great power can come from memorizing scriptures.  To memorize a scripture is to forge a new friendship.

It is amazing to see how much a simple verse can be used in times of doubt or need.  I believe that hymns are another source of  comfort when memorized.  “Be Still My Soul” is a favorite of mine.

1. Be still, my soul: The Lord is on thy side;
With patience bear thy cross of grief or pain.
Leave to they God to order and provide;
In ev’ry change he faithful will remain.
Be still, my soul:  Thy best, they heav’nly Friend
Thru thorny ways leads to a joyful end.

2. Be still, my soul: Thy God doth undertake
To guide the future as he has the past.
Thy hope, thy confidence let nothing shake;
All now mysterious shall be bright at last.
Be still, my soul:  The waves and winds still know
His voice who ruled them while he dwelt below.

3.  Be still, my soul:  The hour is hast’ning on
When we shall be forever with the Lord,
When disappointment, grief, and fear are gone,
Sorrow forgot, love’s purest joys restored.
Be still, my soul:  When change and tears are past,
All safe and blessed we shall meet at last.

Another quote by Elder Scott. . .

Pondering a passage of scripture can be a key to unlock revelation and the guidance and inspiration of the Holy Ghost.  Scriptures can calm an agitated soul, giving peace, hope, and a restoration of confidence to one’s ability to overcome the challenges of life.

My favorite scripture of all time is a hard one to pin-point.  It really is a toss up between Mathew 11:28-30, or John 14:27

Mathew 11

28. Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.

29. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.

30.  For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

John 14

27. Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you:  Not as the world giveth, give I unto you.  Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

Both of those scriptures have given me so much comfort when I have been in need of them.

I know I need to be more consistent in reading my scriptures.  I feel like writing these blogs will also help me because I am taken modern prophets and learning what I can to develop my own testimony on each subject.  I know the scriptures are the word of God and they are important despite their age.  Thomas S. Monson is the prophet of this day and I know he is a man of God.  The church is true.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

