Wedding Traditions

20 01 2012

Something old, something new
Something borrowed, something blue
And a silver sixpence in her shoe.

I didn’t plan to follow this little wedding poem.  However, it became true.

Something old – continuity with the bride’s family and the past

Part of my temple clothing belonged to my mom before it became mine.

Something new – optimism and hope for the bride’s new life ahead

Of course, I had a new dress and new jewelry

Something borrowed – an item from a happily married friend or family member, whose good fortune in marriage is supposed to carry over to the new bride

My veil was actually borrowed from my good friend, Alicia.

Something blue – Before the late 19th century, blue was a popular color for wedding gowns, as evidenced in proverbs like, “Marry in blue, lover be true.”

We decided my blue eyes counted for something blue.

Now, I did not have a sixpence in my shoe, but who really has a sixpence nowadays.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

