I’m Impressed

19 05 2012

At one of my places of employment, we have a very anti-mormon employee.  Supervisors have to keep an eye (or ear) out for him picking arguments.

Today was one of those days.  This employee started an argument with another employee.  This boy is 17 years old and about to graduate college.  I was so impressed with how he was able to quote so many scriptures (both bible and book of mormon)  He was also able to teach with the spirit on his side.  The argumentative employee didn’t lash out at him as much as he usually does.

The boy came to talk to me later about it and asked if he did ok.  For once, I didn’t feel like I needed to break up the argument and I told him that I was very impressed with how he approached everything.  He made an argument, a discussion where both sides felt like they were heard, and each grew from the experience.  I also admitted to him that I have never had a strong habit of reading or studying the scriptures because of the fact that I didn’t grow up with that habit.

I am impressed that even though all of the missionaries we send out are goofballs (what do you expect, they are 19) but with the spirit on their side, they will plant the seeds that are meant to be planted.

I have always been told that I would act as a tool in Heavenly Father’s hands.  How can I be a tool if I don’t prepare.  Heavenly Father can’t put thoughts in my mind if I won’t understand.  I need to do better with scripture study and that will start today.

Image


Actions

Information

Leave a comment